The blog

List of SEPA member countries

SEPA (Single Euro Payments Area) refers to a single euro payments area, the aim of which is to harmonise means of payment (direct debit, payment, bank card) in 34 European countries and territories.

SEPA was developed by the EPC (European Payment Council), which brings together European banks and their respective federations. This initiative was born out of the desire of the European Commission and the European Central Bank to make banking transactions between individuals and companies in different countries more fluid, regardless of borders. The jurisdictional structure has been designed to respect the security and speed of transfers, while guaranteeing identical rules and costs.

SEPA countries that are members of the European Union

  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Cyprus
  • Spain (including the Canary Islands, and the cities of Ceuta and Melilla)
  • Estonia
  • Finland (including the Aland Islands) ;
  • France (including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte,
  • Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin (French part), Reunion and Saint Pierre and Miquelon) ;
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores archipelago)
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia

SEPA countries outside the euro area and members of the European Union

The European economic market involves in SEPA countries that do not have the Euro as their reference currency but which participate in the European Union. A balance has been struck so that in these countries it is possible to adopt the SEPA system for euro transactions and a local system for transactions in the local currency.

The list is as follows:

  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Hungary
  • Poland
  • Czech Republic
  • Romania
  • United Kingdom (including Gibraltar)
  • Sweden

SEPA countries outside the European Union

Due to their historical roots and geographical locations, countries that are not integrated into the European Union also participate in SEPA :

  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Monaco
  • Switzerland
  • San Marino

The Principality of Andorra and the Vatican City are expected to join the SEPA zone soon.

To learn more about Treezor’s SEPA payment solutions, SCT transfer and SDD, please visit the following page.